Header Image

Youth Media Awards have been announced!

I am so happy on the day that the American Library Association announces their Youth Media Awards. Here are the winners (this isn't every category, just the ones that mean the most to me).

I am going to read each of these books. If I have already read the book, I have posted the cover image here and linked my review. I am excited to explore some new books!


Michael L. Printz Award (Best YA literature of the year) 
  • Winner--We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
  • Other finalists--Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, and Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman (I read this one for the CYBILS but cannot post until after the winner is announced on 2/14)
Schneider Family Book Award (Teen living with a disability) 
  • Winner--You’re Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner
Alex Awards (10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences) 
  • Winners--All Systems Red by Martha Wells, The Clockwork Dynasty by Daniel H. Wilson, Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire, Electric Arches by Eve L. Ewing, A Hope More Powerful Than the Sea by Melissa Fleming, Malagash by Joey Comeau, Roughneck by Jeff Lemire, She Rides Shotgun by Jordan Harper, and An Unkindness of Magicians by Kat Howard
Margaret A. Edwards Award (Author who has made a significant contribution to YA or Children's Lit) 
  • Angela Johnson
Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature (LGBT) 
  • Winners--Little and Lion by Brandy Colbert and The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater
  • Other finalists--The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee and As The Crow Flies, written and illustrated by Melanie Gillman
William C. Morris Award (First YA novel by author) 
  • Winner--The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
  • Other finalists--William C. Morris Award: Dear Martin by Nic StoneDevils Within by S.F. HensonSaints and Misfits by S.K. Ali, and Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman
YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

  • Winner--Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers by Deborah Heiligman 
  • Other finalists--#NotYourPrincess: Voices of Native American Women edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale, Eyes of the World: Robert Capa, Gerda Taro, and the Invention of Modern 
Coretta Scott King Author Award (African American Author) 
  • Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson
  • Other finalists--Crown by Derrick Barnes published by Bolden, Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, and The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award (African American New Talent) 
  • The Stars Beneath our Feet by David Barclay Moore
Pura Belpre (Latino Author) 
  • Winner--Lucky Broken Girl, written by Ruth Behar
  • Other finalists--The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, written by Pablo and The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Perez

No comments