Header Image

ALA Youth Media Awards Winners!

The ALA YA Award Books winners were announced today and here they are...
  • Michael L. Printz Award (Best YA literature of the year)--Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
  • Schneider Family Book Award (Teen living with a disability)--Anger is a Gift by Mark Oshiro
  • Alex Awards (10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences)--The Black God’s Drums by P. Djèlí Clark; The Book of Essie by Meghan MacLean Weir; Circe by Madeline Miller; Educated: A Memoir by Tara Westover; The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After by Clemantine Wamariya and Elizabeth Weil; Green by Sam Graham-Felsen; Home After Dark by David Small; How Long ’Til Black Future Month? by N. K. Jemisin; Lawn Boy by Jonathan Evison; Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik.
  • Margaret A. Edwards Award (Author who has made a significant contribution to YA or Children's Lit)--M.T. Anderson
  • Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature (LGBT)--Hurricane Child by by Kheryn Callender
  • William C. Morris Awar(First YA novel by author)--Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
  • YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults--The Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees by Don Brown
  • Coretta Scott King Author Award (African American Author)--A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919 by Claire Hartfield
  • Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award (African American New Talent)--Monday's Not Coming by Tiffany D. Jackon
  • Pura Belpre (Latino Author)--Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
  • Asian / Pacific American Award--Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

No comments